236 Harbour Street
From: July 1 To: Labour Day
Hours: daily: 11 am-5 pm
Kincardine Lighthouse is perhaps the best known lighthouse on Lake Huron since it directly overlooks the harbour close to the downtown core. The 24-metre high, octagonal tower is topped by an iron cupola and stands above the former lightkeeper's quarters. Since 1881 keepers fueled the light with kerosene to guide ships into the busy harbour until the beacon was replaced by an electric light in 1922. The building now houses the Kincardine Yacht Club and the museum where visitors may explore intriguing marine heritage displayed throughout its yacht club lounge, bedrooms, navigation room and shipwreck room. Three sets of staircases lead to the light cupola that projects a rotating beam across the lake. Web cameras located on the tower show real time images of the harbour online at: http://www.kyc.ca/?page_id=554
A story is told of a ship that was guided safely into harbour during a storm by the sound of bagpipes from shore after a worried passenger onboard played a lament on his own pipes. The legend continues on summer evenings when the Phantom Piper pipes the sun down every evening (except Saturday) at dusk during July and August. The best view of the lighthouse is from Walker’s Lookout bridge.
The museum opens for tours daily from July 1 to Labour Day and also contains a souvenir shop.