Dyer's Bay has a tidy harbour where a commemorative ship's propeller is displayed near the dock. Cabot Head Road runs through the hamlet and becomes increasingly austere until it reaches the lonely promontory. Along the way, a cascade that drains Gillies Lake, the only inland lake in Southern Ontario that contains lake trout, empties through this underground stream. The Cabot Head Lighthouse, built in 1896, is a museum that contains nature displays and historical artifacts. The tower provides a panoramic view of the shoreline. A walkway leads to the Wingfield Basin. Several shipwrecks lie within the natural harbour and towering cliffs make an impressive backdrop to this esoteric place. Nestled alongside the basin is a stone lodge that houses the Bruce Peninsula Bird Observatory. Nature research groups use it to monitor bird migrations that follow the peninsula.
Two lookouts can be reached via East Road, south of Dyers Bay: Take Cape Chin North Rd to the left fork and Borchardt Rd to the Blue Minhinnick Trail. This leads to Devil's Monument, the largest land-based sea stack on the peninsula. Stairs and a trail lead down to a spring that resonates inside the hollow rock as it gurgles out of the escarpment. Smokey Head-White Bluff Nature Reserve can be accessed from East Road via Cape Chin South Road. The Bruce Trail follows the east shore before cutting through the interior of the peninsula past Upper Andrew Lake and Moore Lake into the Bruce Peninsula National Park wilderness.
Rare plant habitats with exquisite wildflowers such as Lakeside daisies and Dwarf Lake irises can be found at Bruce Alvar Nature Reserve, on Highway 6 a half-kilometre north of Dyer’s Bay Rd. The best season for viewing flowers is May to mid-June.